Pumpkin Spice Cake

I searched the Internet for hours looking for the perfect recipe (to modify). I went to 3 grocery stores to get the perfect ingredients.  I drove myself crazy for hours before I decided on modifying a cake from a box. Yes, I said it and yes I did it. I’ve flopped more than a few deserts lately and didn’t want to disappoint or give anyone ammo to shoot down vegan baked goods. As a side note last month, for my birthday, my mother (who is known for her baked goods) made a vegan chocolate cake, it wasn’t bad, it was average. It failed to live up to her standards since no one went for seconds. Back to my cake, I found a vegan and organic vanilla cake mix and turned it into an amazing Pumpkin spice cake.

So, how’d I do it? And more importantly how can YOU do it, take:

1 Box of Cake

1 Can (15 oz) of Pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling, straight pumpkin)

2 flax ‘eggs’ (1 tablespoon ground flaxseeds to 3 tablespoons water per ‘egg’)

1/3 Cup of oil

1 / 2 cup almond milk

1 tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice (usually a mix of nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves)

*cake mix box called for 3 eggs, 2/3 cup oil and 2/3 cup milk – reduced due to pumpkin *

I baked in 2 8-inch pans for 33 mins, inline with what the box said.

The icing super simple.

3 1/2 Cups Powdered Sugar

1/2 Cup Butter (vegan of course)

1/3 Cup Milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond)

1 tablespoon of vanilla

Mix together for 2 mins (I used my kitchen aid stand mixer)

Ice cooled cake.

I wish this cake was made just for fun, I need to bake more for fun, less pressure, more opportunity to take risks. This cake was for a birthday. We celebrated my brother’s yesterday; I volunteered to make the cake for selfish reasons, so I could ensure it would be safe to eat it.

Make a wish, cut the cake, Eat.

After a few bites both my mother and brother voiced how much they loved the cake. While quickly eating their pieces, they asked where I got it. I said I made it; they wanted to know how, silence. They stopped eating and looked at each other.

Mother: “its vegan isn’t it?”

Brother: “its ok if you bought it, where though?”

Mother: “oh queenie just tell us what’s in it”

Silence

Mother: “well… what’s in it and what’s wrong with eggs?”

Me: “love”

They both ate another piece; my brother took the rest home.  Have you made any pumpkin dishes lately?

10 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Cake

  1. yumm! i’ve been on a pumpkin kick lately: added it to my daily oatmeal with a spoonful of maple syrup, made pumpkin pancakes and my next attempt is my famous cinnamon rolls… pumpkin style!

Leave a comment